American Sentences

American sentences are 17-syllable, one-sentence poems created, originally, by Allen Ginsberg.

This project is WAY harder than I thought it would be.

 

The air climbs into the windows and cascades over the sheets into calm.

Everything hollow and empty seems to fill my chest, unless you are close.

Rustled and tangled, singing; leaves seem to sing the greatest songs in autumn.

If you wanted to know what happened, you should’ve asked thirteen years ago.

Half full or half empty, my morning cup of coffee gets cold too fast.

In the darkness is where I seem to admire your blossoming words most.

I let my skin crawl with the itch of your last touch until I can’t take it.

When Earth hurls injustice at us, it is our job to be just and keep peace.

Leave a Reply

