30 day writing challenge: Day 1

I have always wanted to try a 30 day challenge of some kind, but most of them involved working out, and lord knows I’m struggling with even keeping up with walking let alone “crunches” and “wall sits” and “push ups.” Gross. So, I’m doing a writing challenge instead! Here we go!

Day 1: List 20 random facts about yourself.

  1. I am in a constant state of sleepy. No matter where I am, or what I am doing, I am always battling the urge to find a corner, or a large leafy plant to hide under and nap.
  2. Cartoons help me cope. Some people wonder why I’m so enthusiastic about cartoons, but really, it’s to take the reality out of reality and focus on feeding my inner child so I can deal with reality when it needs to be dealt with.
  3. I. Love. Candy. There, I said it. Even though I’m doing my best to improve my health, fitness, and exercise, candy takes the edge off. Especially after quitting smoking and caffeine? Yeah, a Jolly Rancher comes in handy once in a while.
  4. I still sleep with my blanky. YEAH. I DO.
  5. Abnormally large things terrify me. Large scale models of things, whales, boats, sky scrapers, huge teddy bears…anything that’s bigger than it should be just freaks the boobs off of me.
  6. Halloween is my favorite day of the year. Some choose to embrace Christmas and even go as far as putting up their Christmas tree around Thanksgiving. Me? I put my Halloween decor up around mid-September. I love the culture behind the holiday, what it means, and how its changed throughout the years, it’s all just so spooky and lovely and wonderful and dark but cheerful at the same time. Yay eerie things!
  7. I cannot fathom living without my cats. My cats have helped me through so many depressive and anxious moments in my life. They truly are lifesavers for a gal who needs to learn to cope with stuff better! Yay Ollie, Opal and Rex!
  8. I am a diabetic. Type 2. And considering number 3 on the list, it’s quite the challenge to balance the two, but I do it. I exercise, I do my best to eat healthy, and when it comes to candy, it’s always in moderation. Always! Diabetes can be managed.
  9. I also have Poly cystic Ovarian Syndrome, which basically means my ovaries can’t shoot out their own eggs, so my hormones are all wonky. I’ve never had a natural period, and I have extra testosterone in my body, which means I have side effects like hair growth on my face and arms and back and stuff. It’s what makes me truly self-conscious about myself, but I’ve learned to embrace it and explain it to people rather than try to hide it.
  10. Michael Scott (character from U.S.’s “The Office” played by Steve Carell) is one of my role models. He’s a goof, and he’s naive, but he is also fearless and selfless and says whats on his mind, however crude/rude/realistic that may be for other people. He embraces life and never scurries from it. Except for that one episode where he thinks the Scranton branch of Dunder Miflin is closing? And he puts on his brave face? Hilar.
  11. I legitimately love myself. I love my size, I love my style, I love my humor, I love my ability to see the sunny side when life is really poopy, I love me.
  12. Talking to strangers, for me, is the worst. And I do it all the time in my job, but I always have this illegitimate fear of saying the wrong thing, or offending someone, or being murdered or something. Really puts a damper on interviews sometimes.
  13. My best friend is my mother. I’m not ashamed of that. She and I have been through hell and back and now, after years and years of tenuous struggle, we’re finally at a good place. We can laugh together, and encourage each other. She is wonderful.
  14. I wish I could’ve had a better relationship with my grandparents. My mother’s parents were long gone before I arrived on earth, and I was still fairly young when both of my grandparents on my dad’s side passed as well. I truly envy anyone who still has their grandparents on this earth. I have so many questions I would love to ask.
  15. I really enjoy working at a newspaper. As difficult as it may be sometimes, especially with all the anxieties I have about working at a newspaper, I really enjoy writing for it. I have a good group of people that I work with, and I get wonderful feedback from my community. It’s like I have a huge team that’s routing for me to succeed in writing. It pretty much dangles on the line between “terrifying” and “awesome.”
  16. Though I grew up a Catholic, I don’t see myself as a Christian. I am more apt to share my sins with the universe than a priest, or Jesus, or Muhammad. I feel like putting the universe in the palm of one god or one descendant of God is too much pressure for one deity. So, I like to share my thoughts and thankfulness to the sun and the moon and the flowers and the trees and stuff. Because they are humble about it.
  17. I’m probably going to vote for Hillary.
  18. I collect Lisa Frank stickers and then when I feel really stressed out and need to journal, but the words don’t come, I just put a bunch of stickers in my journal. It helps.
  19. My least favorite meal of the day is breakfast. I know it’s the most important. I know. But cereal is so messy, and I’m always running late in the morning anyway, and I have emergency poptarts in my desk drawer but dang, why does breakfast gotta be so early in the morning?
  20. I am sorted into the Ravenclaw house in Harry Potter. Members of this house are characterised by their wit, learning, and wisdom. Three characteristics of which I feel I truly identify with.

Now that was surprisingly difficult, and I’m sure if I would see this later, I would want to change items on the list, but for now, as Day 1 of the challenge, I hope you enjoy getting to know a few facts about yours truly!

 

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

